Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 206 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been trolling this forum for a while now and there are tons of very useful information that's been quite helpful along the way so far. So I thought I'd share one of my "side projects" I've recently been working on.

I'm an Engineer for a Generator company, long story short, I was able to get my hands on an essentially brand new QSB 4.5 CTD. I was originally going to flip the engine to help finance other projects, but it's kinda fallen together into its own little project that is actually coming together pretty smooth so far.

So I was already in process of fixing my old plow truck when I came into possession of this engine. Its a 1974 Dodge W200 Sno-fiter edition. 40 years of plowing in NE Ohio has taken its toll on the frame and the poor tired gas 318 in it now. I decided this truck could be a candidate for the common rail 4.5 liter. I have already prepped a new chassis, blasted and painted fro ma 91 Dodge W250 Cummins donar truck, so I started the process of converting the engine for a truck application. I have access to the Cummins Insite software as well as the interface cable needed to reprogram the ECM. So far I successfully re-calibrated the ECM for truck duty still using and "industrial" cal with a rating of 160hp and 460ft-lb of torque. more than adequate for my application. I then bought an accelerator pedal from a bus scrap yard and have successfully wired it to the ECM and verified it works through the Insite interface.

So far so good, the next step is to get the engine running on the stand and verify there are no fault codes. One thing nice about using an industrial engine for this application is its a tier III with virtually zero emission stuff to mess with yet its still an electronic common rail modern engine. Should be quite a unique rig when its done!

So here's what I have so far:
Old tired plow truck