Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello
I’d like to start this off by saying I’m not a mechanic (altho my brother is), I’ve never done a diesel swap, and I’m the “learn as I go” type.
So when reading this, if you’re like “this guy doesn’t know what hes talking about”… youre right… I don’t.

I was originally thinking of putting a Mercedes OM617 into an early-mid '90s Dodge Dakota.
The reason I thought the Mercedes diesel was a good choice is because it seemed like it’d be a less expensive swap to do than the more popular 4BT swap.
I’m not looking for monster power/torque… Just thought itd be cool to have an old 4WD diesel Dakota that got 25+mpg and could pull maybe a small (non pop-up) camper occasionally.
I created a post about it a couple weeks ago on this site and got a few good responses about the pros and cons of using the OM617.

Last night tho
I was reading about the small Dodge D50 pickups from the mid '80s that had the small Mitsubishi 4 cyl diesels in them. (4M55 and 4M56?)
I think some mid '80s Ford Rangers also had this engine.
With some quick research it seems these engines were good in their stock form. (80hp - 110hp I think?)
I also read a little about the engines that come in those Mitsubishi Fuso box trucks.
If these Fuso 4 cyls can haul around these heavy (when loaded) box trucks, it seems they’d have plenty of power for a mid 90s Dakota ext cab 4x4.
One thing I couldn't get much info on was the weight of these Mitsubishi diesels that are in the Fuso box trucks.
I checked Wikipedia and saw Mitsubishi apparently had a bunch of 4 cyl diesels.
Does anyone know exactly which 4 cyl engines came in those Mitsubishi Fuso trucks?
If so, would they be small enough and light enough to put into a small/mid size truck?
Has anyone used one of the Fuso engines for a pickup truck swap?