Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,570 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I painted the Scout 2009 in june. Actually went to the effort to of using a primer after sanding. Upscale! The paint is mil-spec "earth-red" flat. The strips are accidentally on purpose. I started painting outdoors under the shade of a tree in the after noon. So by accident I created the stripes because of the heat and dry weather, +100 F and low humidity.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
gotta love the rattle can jobs...i did my entire m-1010 with a case of rattle can olive drab from canadian tire (krylon),about 6 years ago now...a consistant coat and maintaining a wet edge is practically impossible with the limited spray volume from a rattle can.

maybe mist your stripes with flat black...you can name it the "red tiger"!

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
That looks great. Ready for safari.
Dave

·
Registered
31 Posts
I actually like the look, but that is just me. The black accent idea sounds good as well. On a side note, you spend some money on your grass based where you are at! Im in east Mesa, but guessing you are out west or up north. Its getting toasty to be doing much outside on the vehicles now.

·
Premium Member
2,570 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I actually like the look, but that is just me. The black accent idea sounds good as well. On a side note, you spend some money on your grass based where you are at! Im in east Mesa, but guessing you are out west or up north. Its getting toasty to be doing much outside on the vehicles now.
Just south on Gilbert exit from the 101. The yard is irrigated via SRP.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Not bad at all, I once saw a '65 Mustang with a flat black rattle can paint at a car show. It amazingly looked okay:lol:

·
Super Moderator
8,682 Posts