Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
1973 1T Chevy 453T, need advice and thoughts on a old conversion has AT543 trans and B & over drive. The drivetrain came from a 2T GMC 75 stake bed work truck. The truck is brutally heavy with the entire original drivetrain but has held up for 30 years pulling pretty serious bumper trailers. Has a 2" body lift to accommodate the Detroit. For the record I did not build this truck, it was done in the early 80's by an engineer that worked for Lockheed. I hate the body lift and would love to get the truck back down and even lower. I have kicked around the idea of scraping the body and throwing on a 30's Chevy P/U body and bed. I am thinking about re-gearing the rear and adding a posi. I am not a Diesel mechanic and no expert, I am a Helicopter mechanic and a dumb aviator so bare with me on my ignorance.

I have pictures for guys that are working on their projects, some thoughts...trial and error. I am in the process of redoing the entire fuel system and rewiring. The old truck just needs some love she has worked hard for many years she earned it. Engine Vehicle Motor vehicle Auto part Car Land vehicle Vehicle Motor vehicle Car Truck Engine Vehicle Auto part Car Automotive engine part

Attachments

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I have the bed off and started gutting out the plumbing, holy hell what a mess...I have never seen so many 1/2 clamps. As I am down here taking oral/nasel fuel samples I start to think about the angle of the drive line on the old girl and wonder if the geometry may be off. I could plasma the leave springs off and change the entire angle, without compromising the load integrity too much. Any thought of suggestions?