Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone. I’m new to this, so I hope I don’t annoy anyone with naïve content.

The reason I’m here is that I built a 2002 Silverado 2WD with a turbo diesel OM606 motor off a 99 E300. I posted a short video on YouTube and some people asked me for the build details. I’ll post the video link at the bottom.

My project is a daily driver, built for fuel economy, reliability, comfort, and for use as a work truck when needed. It’s something my wife can drive to pick up the kids or go to the supermarket. So this is not a “superturbo”. I say this in case my project may not make a great deal of sense to some.

General Elements and ($):
• 2002 Chevy Silverado 2WD short (stepside) bed. I wanted white but after many months looking for the truck this is what I found
• OM606 stock engine with stock turbo, alternator, PS pump, AC unit, etc. (approx. $1500)
• DIY OM603 (M) pump with 6mm plungers delivering approx. 75cc, I have a spare 6mm pump that delivers 90cc (approx. $1700).
• Chevy 4L60E transmission (model 1999) with stock cooling hoses.
• EZ-TCU standalone transmission controller ($500)
• Adapter plate (purchased from Bendtsen for under $1K)
• Dakota Digital unit for rpm signal ($50)
• 2.5” intake ($200)
BACKGROUND:
I first found a complete engine with transmission. The seller said the motor had a knock (most likely an injector). Turned out the motor was toast. He helped me with parts so I decided to rebuild it. I actually destroyed the original turbo head and ended up using a non-turbo I found. I kept the non-turbo cams and springs. I may replace those with the turbo ones. But the motor started and idled fine after I completed the rebuild. I replaced two pistons, two rods, crankshaft, etc. Then it took me several months to find a truck. The one I found was in excellent condition so I got it for a great price.

MOTOR & TRANSMISSION: