Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to this engine and learning what I can. I want to install one in a full size Dodge van. I see there are a few different 4BTs out there, which one should I look for? I assume later might be better, or would an early one be as good? Would there be any to stay away from? What is early and late as far as years of manufacture? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
500 Posts
Try to get one with an inline-pump if possible, they're more rare, but can be tuned up for more power, however the standard rotary pump design is fine for most applications.

Also, try to find a 4BT with the correct adapter plate for your intended application(ford, chevy, dodge, etc) auto/manual.

·
Registered
696 Posts
If you're gonna run it as is or only mildly tweaked then buy on condition, if you are gonna bomb the bejesus out of it go for an inline pump preferably the P pump. Inline is probably better for SVO/WVO also. JMHO

Gaza

·
Registered
17 Posts
can you replace the rotary pump with a inline pump or are the mounts diffrent on the engine.

·
Registered
800 Posts
can you replace the rotary pump with a inline pump or are the mounts diffrent on the engine.
yes you can replace it. iirc an inline pump was 1200 last time i found one. figure another 1200 for lines, gears etc....

2400 better be ALOT of power, heck you can get a complete engine for that.

·
Registered
854 Posts

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
I'm pretty new to this engine and learning what I can. I want to install one in a full size Dodge van. I see there are a few different 4BTs out there, which one should I look for? I assume later might be better, or would an early one be as good? Would there be any to stay away from? What is early and late as far as years of manufacture? Any help would be greatly appreciated.