Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey,
I am currently an undergad student studying Mechanical Engineering at Birmingham University. For my automotive module this year we have been grouped together into teams tasked with designing a car to beat the current electric land speed record! This means the car has to travel around 350mph. My job is to design the suspension for the vehicle, however, I have never designed suspension completely from scratch before so would be grateful if anyone could give advice how to go about starting the design and what steps are required to reach a final design.
The car can be assumed to have a mass of about 2 tonnes and will be tested as the Bonneville Salt Flats, USA.

I have currently been considering independant double-wishbone suspension for the front and some form of dependant rear suspension at the rear..

Thanks for any help,

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
hey,
I am currently an undergad student studying Mechanical Engineering at Birmingham University. For my automotive module this year we have been grouped together into teams tasked with designing a car to beat the current electric land speed record! This means the car has to travel around 350mph. My job is to design the suspension for the vehicle, however, I have never designed suspension completely from scratch before so would be grateful if anyone could give advice how to go about starting the design and what steps are required to reach a final design.
The car can be assumed to have a mass of about 2 tonnes and will be tested as the Bonneville Salt Flats, USA.

I have currently been considering independant double-wishbone suspension for the front and some form of dependant rear suspension at the rear..

Thanks for any help,
Bump for the day crew.