Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Administrator
1,447 Posts
175-200°F measured at the pan is pretty much ideal.

Max allowable for short durations should be around 275°F at the pan (300°F entering the trans cooler).

And it never hurts to have some insurance: Grab a bottle of the appropriate Lube Gard (Napa BK 765-2601 is the one for Dexron, there are others) and put it in. I've seen that stuff make a HUGE difference in the lifespan of transmissions that see extreme severe duty use (police academy training cars..)

·
Registered
1,450 Posts
For the most part I agree with machman 175-200 is fine for regular non-synthetic ATF. I have no experience with Lubeguard, and I don't use any other additives to comment on. I do use Schaeffers trans fluid which is a semi synthetic, it is a very good quality ATF. The 275-300 degree max is a little high IMO particularly for regular ATF. There is synthetic ATF that is good to 400 but it is very pricey.
Another rule of thumb I was taught is 100* above ambient air temps is a god indicator for adequate trans fluid cooling.

·
Registered
425 Posts
175-200°F measured at the pan is pretty much ideal.

Max allowable for short durations should be around 275°F at the pan (300°F entering the trans cooler).
I too have to agree. Here is some info about tranny coolers and it talks about tranny temp and ideal operating range.